1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Changing Oil...

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2009, 01:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing Oil...

I know this is a total noob question, but this is the first vehicle I have veer owned.

I have been looking for information and purchased 15-W40 oil, a fuel filter and an oil filter. Can anyone tell me exactly how to drain the oil, where and how to fill it back up, and how to change these filters?

Thank you, and sorry for the stupid question. You have to learn somewhere though...
Old 01-30-2009, 01:57 AM

Received 114 Likes on 80 Posts
i'll start by welcoming you to the forum! if you are new to it, you'll find a lot of handy info in these threads!

anyway, draining the oil is as simple as removing the drain plug in the pan. recommend running the motor for a little bit to warm things up so it drains faster. it'll be a little warm . be sure to torque your drain plug to recommended specs too! the oil filter is easy to change also. usually helps to remove your turbo intake tube for added workspace. twist off the old one. careful, it's still full of oil. when installing the new one, dip your finger in some oil and lube the seal at the top, fill it with fresh, clean oil, then twist it on only hand tight. over tightening could lead to breaking the housing. the fuel filter is a little more difficult. you have to reach up under the intake to get to it. make sure you remove the water in fuel sensor and install in on the new one. installing the new filter is just a matter of finding the threads on the mount and being sure not to cross thread it. fill it maybe 3/4 to full of FRESH diesel fuel. reach back in there and screw it on. hand tighten just like the oil filter. i believe the oil capacity is 12 or 13 quarts including the filter? i think that should get you started.
Old 01-30-2009, 02:51 AM