HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Clutch??

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2006, 03:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clutch??

Hi, Newbie here. I’ve been lurking for a couple of months, trying to soak up as much info as I can.

A few months ago, I bought my fathers 96' 3500 dually. It has 130k on it. He has always treated it with kid gloves. He used to pull a 4 horse trailer with it. Although not often and not at all for the last 4 years. Also it has a pop up truck camper unit. Most of the miles on it, are hwy with the camper on. Living in Wyoming, there isn't a whole lot of city driving.

Also it has the 5 spd manual trans with original clutch.

I admit I am new to Diesel ownership. However, not new to manual transmissions.

Here’s my problem...

When I start from a stand still in 1st, 2nd, or reverse, the truck seems to hop or buck a little. If I really feather the clutch I can make it take off smoothly. But that seems like that would be really wearing down the clutch. After I’m rolling, It shifts smoothly, it isn't hard to get into any gear. Once the engine heats up, the problem seems to go away. The clutch pedal feels like it always has from day one that I have owned it. This problem started about a week ago. There doesn't seem to be any slippage.

I'm really worried about it, I really don't want to be causing any inadvertant damage by letting this go until it "breaks". I really don't think it is the way I drive, I am pretty conservative, I've torn up several vehicles in the past by driving the hell out of em, I'd like this one to last a while. I have pleanty of exp driving manual trans, from my sisters rice burner, to my Father-In-Law's cabover. The only thing I have killed the clutch in was an old John Deere 4520. So I don't think it's me, but.....I wouldn't rule myself out yet...

Is the clutch due for replacement? Is it something more?