General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

High mileage trucks?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2017, 10:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High mileage trucks?

Hello diesel monkeys. I'm new here this is my first thread. Never owned a pickup with a diesel in it but I'm looking. I have some experience as a former CDL instructor. My question is about the claims of these Diesel engines that run 500k+ miles. Where are they? In looking to buy a pickup in the Texas area where there are a lot of 3/4-1 ton trucks I've not seen one for sale over 350k and only a small handful over 300k. I've seen it in the petes and freightliner etc but not the pickups. I'm looking at trucks averaging 200-250kmiles 4x4 with asking price maybe low end $15k but that seems like a lot for a truck that may not run by the time it's paid for. Just wondering is the idea of these 7.3 or 5.9 or whatever you like going 500k+ miles a wives tale cause I don't see any for sale anywhere? Hope to get some input from you thanks.
Old 10-02-2017, 12:17 PM

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts
My last pickup only went 320,000 before losing its third transmission. That's when I decided to get a new one. The engine was inspected at 280,000 when it got the new upgraded head gasket. It was pristine, and will easily make 500,000 without breaking a sweat. To do so, it is being donated into a 1965 Ford F-250 crew cab that has been maintained well, despite being a regular driver itself.

I'm guessing most stories might be like mine. If the truck has that many miles on it, there isn't much resale market for it. We will just continue to run them until the rest of the truck makes it not worth it to do so anymore. It won't be the engine's fault.
Old 10-02-2017, 12:39 PM