1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

New truck questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2005, 10:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New truck questions

As of last Thursday i'm the proud poppa of a 1990 W-350, AT, stock, 123000 miles on the odo, red as the devil. This is my first diesel, and I want to do it right, so what's the first order of business. I'm using it as a work truck... I'm a landscaper, and I don't want to hotrod the thing, but I definitely want to give it a little mmmpfh. Also, I don't know how much longer the trans is gonna give me... it shifts a little rough. ALSO, the back brake drums are leaky (rusty, too) and I get a real "bumpy" slowdown from high speeds (I don't know if these are related). Any words of wisdom?
Mike
Old 09-23-2005, 11:49 AM

Originally Posted by crunchybuttr
1990 W-350, AT, stock,
First put this in your profile.

Plenty of things you can do to give you more "mmpfh" just search for adjusting the injector pump this is easy and free don't go too much without a EGT guage though. Especially since you are non intercooled. I would definately look into installing a intercooler. Open up the exhaust, at least get rid of the muffler.

For the brakes their just like any other drum brake except when you go into them get 1-ton wheel cylinders from a chevy 1-ton and install them. being a 350 it should already have the 3in wide shoes but if not install them.

Originally Posted by crunchybuttr
I get a real "bumpy" slowdown from high speeds
Mike
explain
Old 09-23-2005, 11:50 AM

Welcome abord Mike. Congrats on the truck.
I would say the first things to do are
1- change all fluids
2- get gauges (pyro is the most important)
3- change seals in rear drums (its probably rear fluid your leaking)
4- adjust throttle linkage to get max travel
5- 16cm housing for turbo would be nice (less spool up time)