Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

wiring offroad lights

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2008, 08:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
wiring offroad lights

I have a light bar with 4 offroad lights on it. When I got the truck a few months ago everything was installed except the wiring, switch and relay. Does anyone know of a good simple kit for 4 lights?! Just to let you know that I've never done any wiring before either.
Old 11-26-2008, 08:21 PM
Administrator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I only use heavy duty 'constant duty' solenoids on my trucks and equipment to run ANY accessory items. I wire them into a power wire that is alive only when the key is in the 'ON' position. This allows nothing to be drawing power when the key is off, thus eliminating the possibility of accidentally leaving something on to drain the battery. Another side benefit is if something I've wired shorts out and for some reason doesn't trip a fuse or circuit breaker, all that has to be done to stop a minor problem from becoming a disaster is to shut off the key. My theory is that this avoids fires!

This is how I wire accessories to a solenoid;
1) Run battery power to the solenoid with a battery cable, keeping the solenoid as close to the battery as possible to avoid long runs of battery cable.
2) Find a wire that becomes energized only when the key is on. Tap into that wire and run a wire from it to the small terminal on the solenoid. This terminal is what activates the solenoid.
3a) Sometimes, some solenoids have another small terminal almost next to the one referred to in #3. This terminal is used as a ground for the solenoid if the solenoid isn't self grounding. Run a wire from this grounding terminal to one of the solenoid mounting bolts.