Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Over Time, over what?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2004, 04:08 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Over Time, over what?

OK, I need some help here. I know what OT in general is, I have gotten a few dollars that way myself too, yet now I have new found dillema.

Lets say that I am a baker (I am not) and make rolls. Lets say I make $10.00/ hour. Now for some reason I am asked to work more that 40 hrs a week or more than 8 hrs a day (whichever) doing the same work, producing the same rolls. Does the bakery get to charge more for those rolls?

Also, there seems to be some controversy over OT in the current political arena, could someone please tell me why? I missed that on the news.

Thanks,

Peter
Old 10-06-2004, 04:29 PM
Administrator / Scooter Bum

Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts
No but the extra 1/2 hour per hour worked wages they pay you doesn't cost them the big hit that hiring another employee (with wages, health care, vacation time, sick leave, etc) to work the additional hours would.
Old 10-06-2004, 04:32 PM

Yes the baker can charge what ever he wants to charge. If people are willing to pay it, all is well. If not, then I guess he can't. The baker wants to charge more for the overtime. If the bakery owner wants to pay it, all is well. If not, the baker gets no overtime. Seems pretty simple to me...
Old 10-06-2004, 04:50 PM