4th Gen Engine and Drivetrain-2010 and Up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Help for a New Guy

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2013, 03:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help for a New Guy

Hello all, first post. My 1/2 ton ford is nearing the end of it's life. I've been a fan of the Dodge 3/4 ton trucks with the cummins for a while now and am considering moving up. I work in construction and occasionally carry heavy loads in the bed or on a trailer. I've managed with the 1/2 ton for 7 years now but about 3-4 times a year it's a PITA not having the extra capacity, both payload and towing. I'm going 8 foot bed for sure with the extended cab, 4wd, probably an ST package. I would also like to one day own a slide in truck camper that I will use with this truck while towing a small boat
Question one: There are sweet deals right now on the 2012 models still left on lot. The dealer is telling me that I WANT a 2012 because of the lower cost of ownership being that it does not require the Diesel exhaust fluid but the new 2013 will require the DEF. I had not heard this until I visited the dealer. Is this true? For those of you reading this who have owned other brands where you had to add DEF is it a pain? Does it get expensive? I countered to the dealer, yes more fluid to add in 2013 model but they have made them more fuel efficient, or so I've read. Is this true?
I think I'll love owning one of these fine trucks but my big decision now is to go '12 or '13.