24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Wont crank at all, help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2009, 09:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wont crank at all, help!

1999 4WD 120K miles

Trouble starting

Just replaced the starter last week, and has two good batteries. So I have a good starter, batteries, and fuel flow. Wont crank at all.

I have had this happen before, turn the ignition switch, and no crank, and you dont even hear the starter relay. Fuel relay does work, and you hear the lift pump. It might have something to do with the neutral safety switch.

Bottom line, is that it didnt start today, and had to ride the motorcycle?

How do I diagnose? Switch out the starter relay on the engine driver's side?
Bypass the neutral safety switch (How?)

Where do I put a meter? (BTW, Im an electrical engineer, so if pointed in the right direction, can diagnose this.

Thanks

Mike
Old 06-23-2009, 02:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
mine did some weird stuff this weekend, no start dead, put an extra battery on and it started, drove it for 3 weeks on vacation no problem drove it all day no problem then went to take trailer off truck no juice dead. put small charge on the batteries and started right up. and kept starting. will have to load test batteries individually and all connections seem ok. have to isolate the problem to battery or starter. ED
Old 06-23-2009, 05:50 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm guessing you have an auto from your neutral safety switch comment.
Did you try moving the shifter up into park further?

If that doesn't work I would try it in neutral.

The next step I would take after that is to clip a wire on the little terminal on the starter and jump it to make sure the starter is ok and it starts, remember, make sure its in park or neutral if its a manual.