1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Engine shut down while driving

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2002, 12:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine shut down while driving

hello this is my first time writing so bare with me.<br> I have a 1991 250 dodge 4x4 with the diesel 178000 miles on it up till now no problems that I couldn't fix but now I have one.<br> Driving to work one morning truck started just fine temp around 30 or so about half way to work truck shut down like I turned off the key had it towed to our local cummins dealer and they cracked the fuel lines to see if it was geting fuel it was, but when they went to start it the ignition fell apart they put it backtogther and it started up so we though that what it was put new one it, 2 days later did the same thing called cummins they came out cracked lines it fired up check presher at lift pump it had 4.5 to 5 pounds so we replaced the lift pump arnt they supose to have 10 pounds?<br> well two days later did it again changed fuel filter hope this helps running out of ideas cant find any leaks where it could be loosing prime not sure what to do any help would be appreciated thanks
Old 12-01-2002, 01:03 PM
Administrator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re:Engine shut down while driving

Be sure and check the connections to your fuel shutoff solenoid. If you look at the back of the pump, there will be 2 wires attached to a spade terminal. Make sure the crimp on spades are good and tight and there is no corosion on the spades. The same thing you describe happend to me, and this was the culprit. At startup, the voltage pulls the magnet up in the solenoid, this allows fuel to be delivered to the delivery valve etc. If you loose voltage there, the magnet falls and fuel cannot be delivered. Just a guess, but worth checking in too.
Old 12-01-2002, 05:05 PM
Jrr