1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Advice needed!

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2005, 01:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Advice needed!

Hello Guys, First of all Im not a mechanic, I will swap some external parts and attempt some MODS if I am reasonably sure of what I am doing. My situation, I recenty purchased (24 June) a one owner 92 x-cab 4x4 1 ton 5 spd w/78k miles completely stock. I would like a list of "top 10" low budget mods/prevent maint. that I can do to enhance handling/performance/mpg/
longevity. (Example) From reading post, I have learned that there is a potential problem with the 5 spd Getrag & that an extra qt. lube should be added? Also, I have noticed extra amount of play in steering wheel, is it possible to adjust this play out? This will not be a daily driver, i have a small farm (part-time) & i will pull livestock couple times month, but, it is my only truck so whatever I need one for i will use this. I will consider taking to a garage if Im confident of the outcome. Thanx in advance for you help.
Old 06-27-2005, 03:06 PM

On the steering shaft there is a coupler that attaches your shaft to the steering box. Most of the time these seem to go and end up giving some play in the wheel. To fix this you can either buy a new one OR buy a universal couple instead. The universal is a little stronger and is easier on the seals on the steering box. I've been meaning to grab one for my truck but haven't managed to do so yet.
Old 06-27-2005, 03:11 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
#1 prevention is clean oil and fuel as with all engines, these beasts are tough. I run rotella oil and wix fuel and oil filters i'v had good success with them. A little sip of diesel fuel cleaner doesnt hurt either. The problem with the getrag is a internal nut if im not mistaken. it can be repaired before it gives you grief.