12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Cummins Cross Gremlin Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2003, 09:31 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cummins Cross Gremlin Conversion

I'm a stupid idiot. I want to drop in a 5.9 Diesel engine into an AMC Gremlin. I have no idea how I would beef up the frame and suspension enough to hold the thing, or totally fabricate a new drive train, or fit in a large enough fuel tank for the engine, or get an adequate exhast system, but HEY! as I've said, I'm a stupid idiot.
So, what I need to know is the size of the 12 valve diesel engine itself and how much does it weigh? I've heard that it is rather small for a powerful diesel engine, but is it small enough to even begin to fit into a compact car?
I'm a college student in need of wheels. (I curently have a Toyata Tercel for crying out load.) Anybody have any ideas?

P.S.- I'm also want to convert it to run on Veggie, put in a propane fumigator and a rapid air intake system.

I'm a stupid idiot with big ideas!
Old 08-15-2003, 09:40 PM
Adminstrator-ess

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Re:Cummins Cross Gremlin Conversion

Do you also live under a bridge and eat goats?
Old 08-15-2003, 10:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

[quote author=wannadiesel link=board=16;threadid=18452;start=0#msg173145 date=1061001643]
Do you also live under a bridge and eat goats?
[/quote]

ROFLMAO!
Old 08-16-2003, 08:59 AM
Banned