Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Tell me why I want Scotty2/AFE stage 2

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 02:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tell me why I want Scotty2/AFE stage 2

I know there is lots of info available in numerous different threads. I have done the searchs and they have been helpful. I am a newbie to the diesel scene as I have only made one payment on my firt truck. I have a 02 2500 5sp with only a four inch exhaust installed now. Locals shops are all saying to do AFE(um...maybe because they sell em) and act like there is nothin else available thats worth my time but forum users seem to be swearing by the Scotty. What's the differences? As far as performance, EGT control, and even sound? Anybody that has direct experience with either of the two or both please chime in. Any other suggestions welcome as well.

Thanks for the help,
Ryan

And once again I apologize for bringing up this already beat to death topic.
Old 01-17-2006, 02:50 PM
Banned

The difference is that the scotty draws air from not only the fender but from the windshield cowling as well. This allows TONS of cold, dense, EGT killing air to be ingested by the engine. Go to scottysystems.ca and take a look at some of the editorials done by people. On average you'll see at least a 100* drop. At least. Most of the time (depending on how heavily fueled you are) you'll see more. Now, unless you've upped the fueling on your truck you won't see much of a difference. But, when you start adding fuel, that's when it pays off. But trust me, you won't find a better performing intake on the market. Not to mention that scotty himself is a great man to deal with and will set ya up with whatever you need.
Old 01-17-2006, 04:26 PM

If your going to stay under 500hp get the Scotty.
If you plan on going crazy I would go for the AFE stage 2 unit.

IMO.