Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

My first diesel!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2004, 05:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking My first diesel!!!

2 days ago i was looking for a new truck and i found something i thought i would never want. Its a 98 2500 lb 5 speed 24v cummins. I fell in love instantly. I had never driven one before and it is GREAT! The only thing is i'm a newbie to them so i need so help and basics for the newcomer. I will probably never tow anything, i just like the truck. Do i need to cool down after a jaunt around town? how about warm up? I have been reading forums and found an easy cool mod, taking out the silencer ring, and it just sounds AWESOME now. I'm thinking i definetly wanna do some mods, but do not want to do anything to decrease the life of the motor, right now it "only" has 145k on it. I was reading AFE and scotty 2 are good intakes, which one is better? feel free to add anything. i know i need some gauges, mainly boost and egt. i have tweeters in my a pillar, where else could i mount em...I know alot about motors (i am rebuilding a SBC) but i know NOTHING about diesels. Fuel plates seem to be a simple effective mod, what do they do, where are they. I basically need some links or places to get the low down
Old 02-15-2004, 05:55 PM

Welcome to DTR!!!!

Well to start off, it is in your best intrests to let the truck cool down after driving around town. What you are trying to cool down is your turbo. Some people say that around town driving requires less than a minute for the turbo to cool down; some say more. But thats where the gauges come into play. You're right about getting egt and boost gauges, but a fuel pressure gauge should also be installed.