Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Exhaust and intake mods

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2005, 07:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust and intake mods

Hello all,
I'm new here and I'm also new to Diesel trucking. I have a welding / fab business and I just bought a 1998.5 Dodge w2500 (24 valve) to haul my welder/equipment. The truck is great it's my 17th pickup but my 1st Diesel. It pulls strong and the fuel mileage is good around 17mpg. I run about 250 miles per day and like the truck very much. Now for my questions... I would like to put on one of the 4" exhaust that I see all over the place and was thinking about upgrading the air intake system. Is there an exhaust system that you folks here prefer? How about intake mods? I don't want to hurt my fuel mileage. I see claims the the 4" exhaust will improve my power is this true or is it mostly hype? Oh yea how about all these plug in modules that add 100+hp and gobs of tourqe?
Any help would be appreciated
Topper
Old 05-21-2005, 07:59 AM

4 inch exhause may add a few horses and a few pounds of torque but the main benefit is the reduction in EGTs. There are alot of choices for electronic box add ons, I am looking at the MAD ECM personally. I like the low end response. Alot of guys are running the comp boxes with success too.
Old 05-21-2005, 08:01 AM

The best thing to do is use the search feature and relax, because you will have hours of reading.

Don't expect any power or even mileage from intake and exhuast mods.

If you own a fab shop, build your own 4" exhaust. I think i did mine for about $70.

Jason
Old 05-21-2005, 08:06 AM
Adminstrator-ess

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
A BHAF is a good place to start on the intake. The Scotty II has a big following as well.