Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Tire Chain??'s

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2011, 09:34 AM
TJE

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Tire Chain??'s

Hello all. I've some??.....tired of all the snow and with a 2wd truck and a flat bed and hwy tires I'm not getting much traction. I've never used tire chains before, so I need some input from those with experience. Are they worth it? More trouble than worth? How much snow/ice is needed before they're usable? I don't want to spend an arm and a leg but don't want junk either. Can someone steer me in the right direction? Anything I might need to know about them clue me in.

Thanks, Tony
Old 02-07-2011, 09:49 AM

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts
I'd say first thing to check for is if they're legal in your state. I know up here only studs are allowed during the winter months, no chains. From what I understand they tear the tire up more than anything in less than a few inches of snow. But with those few inches of snow they do work well!
Old 02-07-2011, 10:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by gorms
I'd say first thing to check for is if they're legal in your state. I know up here only studs are allowed during the winter months, no chains. From what I understand they tear the tire up more than anything in less than a few inches of snow. But with those few inches of snow they do work well!
http://www.tirechainsrequired.com/laws.html
Old 02-07-2011, 04:27 PM

Received 148 Likes on 127 Posts
Chains won't hurt your tires if you install them correctly.

Ged a good set of "flat" chains, they are good quality and will last longer.

Install them on your rig and cut off the excess links on the connection points.

Get four 12" rubber hold downs and hook them at 12 and 3 o'clock, pull to the center and cross them over and hook at 6 and 9 o'clock.