Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

A question for the EEs

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 07:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A question for the EEs

I have heard it can be done but have never seen it done. Can you run 2 3 phase motors on single phase power by wiring them a special way?
Old 10-07-2008, 10:33 AM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts
Short answer, no. It will not work. 3 phase motors need a 3 phase supply in order to create the rotating magnetic field required for the rotor to spin. If you hooked a single phase line to a three phase motor, it will not spin.

The only way to make it work is to convert your single phase into 3 phase power. One way to do that is to use a rotary phase convertor (RPC). I have little knowledge on those devices other that what they are used for. More info on them can be found here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rotary_phase_converter

And on 3 phase induction motors : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Induction_motor

Just curious, what are you trying to run?
Old 10-07-2008, 11:36 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I am an industrial electrician and i work with three phase motots all the time, In theory you can run a three phase motor off single phase. It is unreliable, requires capacitors and relays and resistors, and doesn't make nearly the rated power of the motor. The three best ways to run a three phase motor on single phase power would be;

1. Rotary Phase Converter - a single phase motor is coupled to a three phase motor to spin it like a generator.

2. Static Phase Converter - A capacitor bank is used to cause a temporary phase shift to simulate three phase power to get the motor spinning and then it just runs on single phase power at a reduced rating.