Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

DIY Window Tint?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2007, 04:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY Window Tint?

Tell me everything you guys know about do it yourself Window tint...I've heard it's not worth it because it will bubble and all sorts of stuff, but that was a long time ago...Is it better to just get them professionally tinted?
Old 03-20-2007, 05:44 PM

I watched them do it on my truck and it seems simple enough. The only reason I wouldn't is the warranty on the tint. If mine bubbles or gets discolored in any way they replace it for free.
Old 03-20-2007, 06:17 PM

about 25 years ago or so I used to do it for a living...

Do your self a favor and just pay someone to do it.. It isn't really that hard but it is tedious.. any speck of dust will show up as a bubble.. and if you screw up then you just spent the money you saved by doing it yourself...

There should be several shops around fighting for your business.. I think I paid $70.00 for the 4 side windows on mine.. I left the rear alone because it has the defroster in it..

Make sure they use a quality tint (3M etc..).. and don't get anything with a silver in it.. just a straight grey.. silver will just reflect your dash lights back at you and make it hard to see out...

Gerry
Old 03-20-2007, 06:29 PM

Thanks for the input guys, thats just what i wanted to hear
Old 03-20-2007, 08:15 PM

I agree with the guys above I paid $148 for my 2 sides and my rear window, money well spent, as I was very satisfied with the quality and workmanship.

I know I couldn't have done that good of job myself. It looked like a veryyy tedious job.
Old 03-20-2007, 08:23 PM
DTR College Boy and FUN SIZED!!!!!!!!!!

Like it has been already said, it ain't hard, just tedious. Get a good quality tint, as mentioned, and have a reputable place do it.
Old 03-20-2007, 10:18 PM
Banned