General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Attention: auto diesel technicians?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 08:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Angry Attention: auto diesel technicians?

well i am just wondering of all the auto diesel technicians out there if you ever feel like you have gotten the shaft from your dealership? i am goin on 4 years at this (chevy) dealership now, i am an ASE master technician, have thousands of hours of GM training, and am also the guy who works on 99% of diesel drivability problems in the shop. just recently we hired two new guys in the shop and my service manager has started both of them out at the exact same flat-rate wage as me!! one guy has no ASE training and no GM training, while the other guy is an ASE master technician with no GM training, neither one know diesel at all, so i am thinking that i'm getting the shaft and that maybe i should deserve a raise. in our shop we only get paid flat-rate, no base pay and i am making $18 an hour on flat-rate, when i started as a freshy, i only got $14 so i don't see why our new guys should make that much, but what do i know, since therefore i am not an almighty manager which means i must not know anything. i heard once that the only reason managers get put in there posistions is because they can't do anything else right so they have to do something with them.
Old 03-16-2006, 08:58 PM
Administrator / Scooter Bum

Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts
It ain't just auto techs.

A telco tech hired 4 years ago with my company makes the exact same take home pay that I do with 25 years of service.
But we're Union.

Go ask for a raise.
Old 03-16-2006, 09:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Theres always some drama inside the dealerships. Right or wrong?
Old 03-16-2006, 10:02 PM