4th Gen Engine and Drivetrain-2010 and Up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Required Maintenance + Warranty

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2010, 12:12 PM
edc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Required Maintenance + Warranty

I'm not sure if this is the right forum section for this but I think the issue is specific to a generation of truck so I will try this.
I plan in the next several months to buy a 2500 with a Cummins. The motivation I have to admit is more desire to have a diesel than a real need.
I know when I finally write the check there will be the sales pitches for various levels of extended warranty etc. I have no experience with diesels in autos or trucks. I have owned several diesels in boats including Cummins -- the secret there was to keep the fuel clean and change the oil on a regular basis -- pretty simple but no emissions stuff was in the equation. My question to you experts (and I do really appreciate the experience here) is what is involved with ongoing maintenance on these new Dodge trucks with the Cummins --- is it primarily oil changes (frequency?) and fuel filter changes? Or are there maintenance needs beyond that like emission components (DPF etc.)? I typically do oil changes myself. I am trying to understand the cost of ownership of one of these vehicles. Also would appreciate comments and opinions on the value of extending the truck or powertrain warranty beyond what is provided