3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Turbo intake modification (photos)

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2004, 10:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turbo intake modification (photos)

I’m going to share my version of a mod to the intake tube baffle. First, I should say that the following comments are just my opinion, because I’m not an intake engineer. The 2004.5 (year) 600 is very quiet including its new turbo – much more quiet than the 2004 I test-drove for a day. My mission was to remove the baffle either by making a new one or modifying the existing. Well, I found a way to remove the X shaped baffle that’s sole purpose is to reduce intake noise (turbo) w/o jacking-up the tube. See the notes and photos below. I also removed what’s called the pre-filter on the element. The same type of pre-filter material will be found by reaching you hand into the quarter panel, through the air intake for the box itself. It’s glued in and can be easily removed. Both of these items are also designed to reduce intake noise. The result is a turbo that can be heard a little more. Also, now the filter minder will go only to the quarter mark, but was formerly going to the halfway point. Looks like I got just a touch more power too when mashing the pedal to the floor. Note that everything can be reversed to its original state if needed.

I drove it like this for a few days and then decide to remove the silencer ring too. That sure changed the turbo sound a bit! Now I hear more lower sounding turbo noise and fan type sounds. There’s a 747 jet under the hood now. I’ll have to test drive more to see if the ring will remain out and its effects. Does seem to spool-up faster, though.

Baffle Modification notes: (named the “Nelson modification”)