3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Fass/air Dog

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2009, 08:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fass/air Dog

I've have read and read and read.....

Do these two products replace the lift pump?

Do any of you have these on your trucks where you can give me details how and where you installed it ?

Can you tell me what benefits would be realized by these products?
Old 02-18-2009, 10:21 AM

This set up is much more dependable than the stock lift pump and will provide the needed fuel requirements when the cummins is modified for hp. it will also work for stock trucks. I am no expert but, the assurance over the stock lift and filtering properties is enough for me. I will be doing this mod. to my truck in the near future. If you search here for air dog I believe you will find some good pictures of install for this pump/filter set up. I have seen it posted here before.
Old 02-19-2009, 12:04 PM

I have the Airdog 150 and we installed it in a couple of hours, had a lift handy. We also did the fuel tank vent mod while we had the tank out, has worked out great. The Airdog does make some noise but you only really notice it whiel your waiting for the heater grid to turn off, then the engine pretty much downs it out. The Airdog has better filtering of the fuel, takes the air out of the fuel and also any water.
Old 02-19-2009, 12:33 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by TKC2000
The Airdog has better filtering of the fuel, takes the air out of the fuel and also any water.
It may remove air, but the water filtering just isn't there.. The baldwin PF7977 has the same absolute rating for filtration (5 microns) and meets the OE spec of 95% free and emulsified water removal, the AD only removes 50% of free water and 0% of emulsified water...

The AD/FASS is grossly underfiltered for the price.
Old 02-19-2009, 12:48 PM

Originally Posted by ah64id