2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Steering pull to the right is gone....

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2005, 09:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Steering pull to the right is gone....

I am not an expert on front ends but know some of the info. Tow in is the main thing adjusted on an alignment, the Camber is not adjustable on a 4wd, and Caster is not critical just so there is positive Caster and they are equal.

My truck has always had a minor pull to the right and consequently wears the right tire more than the left. My ball joints are tight and the linkage is good, since replacing the left side tie rod end.

I downloaded an article from Pavement Sucks about alignment that made it simple and with that info I finally fixed the pull. The article says that if it pulls you add a little positive caster to the side that it pulls. I center punched a mark on the adjuster plate to mark where it was originally and gave it some more Caster on the right side. No more pull... great info on there.
Old 05-23-2005, 10:27 PM

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts
HID, on a solid front axle, you can't actually adjust caster on one side relative to the other, because the housing won't twist. What you did was effectively change the angle of the front axle so it's not square to the frame anymore. The most common cause of a steering pull on our 4x4 trucks is a thrust angle on the rear axle- it's not square to the frame. This is usually due to the slop in the locating pin between the lift block, leaf spring, and axle pad. Sorry for the bad news.

Dave
Old 05-24-2005, 12:39 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You nailed that one Torquefan....and camber adjustment can be achieved with offset ball joints.
Old 05-24-2005, 08:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts