24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Newbie here, have a few questions?

Old 04-07-2004, 03:21 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Newbie here, have a few questions?

Well, I currently own an '03 7.3 PSD DRW CC Auto. I have been somewhat happy with the truck in the 1 1/2 years I have owned it. My question is this: I am thinking of trading in on a '04 Cummins. Auto or stick, that is the question. My Powerstroke has some mods, do alot of drving, and it ate the auto tranny @ 38,000 miles. I hear that the Dodge tranny is a little weaker unit then the 4R100 in the Ford. I plan on modding the Cummins, so should I be better off with the stick or auto? Thanks for any input.
Old 04-07-2004, 03:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
with a stick you will most likely need to upgrade the clutch...the auto, if you upgrade, you will need to spend a good bit more money upgrading it. I have a modified auto and I killed it in about 3 months after modifying, it still works just slips a lot, the factory converters are not so hot. If i did it over, i would probably get a stick..less to go wrong and a clutch is cheaper than an aftermarket auto tranny.
Old 04-07-2004, 03:45 PM
Banned

Depends on what your driving needs are. If you tow a lot, then definately a stick. If you want a drag racer, then get an auto. For just normal driving around town, get a stick.
Old 04-07-2004, 03:45 PM

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts
Depends on what you plan to do with it. If you're going to BOMB it and turn it into a drag racer, the auto is the preferred choice. It's more expensive to upgrade so it can handle the power, but saves the rowing down the strip. There are good upgrades out there, so you're not going to be sacrificing upgradeability...you'll just have to put a little more money into it.