24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

LP gone out?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2004, 07:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question LP gone out?

Hey everybody! I'm a newbie here. I know you all are prolly tired of seeing questions about lift pumps (i'm getting tired of reading them myself). Anyhow, I put a new filter in and filled the cannister 3/4 up with fuel, tightened and fired. Ran for about 4 seconds then died. I then cracked the rear banjo and turned key to the on position. I heard nothing, and there was no fuel present at the banjo. I then proceeded to bump the starter thinking that this would help. Still I heard nothing and there was no fuel present at the banjo. I then took the cannister cap off only to find an empty bowl. The whole time I'm thinking (lift pump?) I then filled the cannister back up with fuel and tried again. Still no fire. I then turned the key for prolly 18 seconds, and she fired up. The truck runs fine, has 95,000 miles since i bought it new. My question is, because i cannot hear the pump running while the key is on, is this an indication that the lift pump is bad? I know that a fuel pressure gauge is the answer, and I do intend to get one soon. I'm just wondering if this is an obvious sign that it is bad so i can get it replaced under warranty before i reach 100,000.
I appreciate all the useful info I have gathered from this board. I have learned alot about diesel engines here. I've been a gasser for half my life until i discovered what a real engine is all about. I'll never go back!
Any info appreciated. Thanks.
Old 04-28-2004, 08:20 PM

Welcome to DTR. You don't say what year your truck is, but the older style l/p's had problems with the electrical plugs. The newer pumps have an updated plug that protects the connection better. You might check to make sure you are getting power to the pump first.

Boyd.