24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

0216 Code No Indicating Problems And Truck Died

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2007, 12:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
0216 Code No Indicating Problems And Truck Died

I have a 99 2500 automatic w/147,000mi. I took a 600 mile trip and as I pulled in the driveway at home my truck died and will not start now it just turns over (very happy it happened when we got back). The lift pump can be heard running under the hood but no fire. I have not had any of the lead up problems that seem to be associated with and injector pump failure(dead peadal loss of power etc). The truck ran great before it quit. I get a 0216 code on the scan tool which I see usually means the pump is bad. Do they ever just quit working like it seems to have done in my case or might there be some other problem? I am no diesel expert for sure so any help would be appreciated.
Old 03-06-2007, 12:44 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy

Welcome to the DTR!!
Sorry to hear about your dead VP44. RIP.
Some go out slowly and some go like yours did.
Make sure when you replace it you also replace the LP.
Do a search on here and there is lots and lots of reading on them. Might want to upgrade to the HRVP44.
Old 03-06-2007, 06:56 PM
Chapter President

Yeah, welcome and stay away from anything called "Dodge dealer" they will tell you that the P0216 means that is has low fuel pressure and sell you an intank conversion. Then when you talk to pump shops and Cummins dealers they'll tell ya your VP44 is done. Go with what Kustom said, VP44 and lift pump. Mine just took a dump this weekend and it has warranty and the dealer is installing the intank conversion and said the injection pump "should" be alright. Not a great boost of confidence with the "should" part.

Sorry for you loss.
Old 03-06-2007, 09:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts