1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Just bought 93 250 4x4 auto

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought 93 250 4x4 auto

Hi everybody, I am new to the diesel world, but with what I do know I think I have made a good switch.
I do have some questions about the truck I purchased yesterday:

I paid 4900$ it has 214000 mi. It is a very clean 250 IC auto 4x4, not even a tear in the drivers seat! Did I pay too much?

The spedo does not work mechanic told previous owner that it was a sensor. This effects the OD also? Is it difficult to fix? Where is it located?

The oil pressure is lower than the manual (yes the origional manual)
says it should be for driving pressure, is this a bad sign?
The truck never did any towing only long trips up the California coast.

The power seems lacking to me, pulling 9k has hard time, is this normal for the 1st gen?

Are mods at the milleage ok? What type would be best bang for the buck?

The front passanger wheel bearings are bad I believe, the wheel can be moved from top to bottom around 3/16" when lifted. Grinding sound when turning tight, is this the bearing also?

The steering wheel can be turned two inches before the tires move, tie rods look good, steering box?

My mind is swimming with questions so I apoligize if there are too many
Old 02-12-2010, 11:34 PM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Power seems lacking huh, welcome to the 1st gen world

Turn that fuel screw up and get some gauges

If it's in good shape you did not pay too much...plenty of first gen trucks over 400k.
Old 02-12-2010, 11:44 PM

Whats a fuel screw? Thats all thats invloved, turning a screw?
What are the guages for?
Old 02-13-2010, 12:08 AM

Originally Posted by 93 high hopes
Whats a fuel screw? Thats all thats invloved, turning a screw?
What are the guages for?