1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

dodge wobble

Old 08-09-2014, 09:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dodge wobble

hi

im new to trucks, new to dodges, new to this forum, but not new to diesels.
i just bought a 91.5 1ton power ram. it only has 68k miles on it, and the engine and transmission are sound as could be.

suspension feels good, brakes feel good, steering feels tight

the only problem is that it has a pretty rugged speed wobble. iv done a bit of research and found a bunch of seemingly dodge specific literature on the 'death wobble'. maybe theres already a bunch of threads here on that subject so my apologies if thats the case.

it sounds like the root of the problem frequently lies in the track bar, which is a totally new piece of hardware to me. it also sounds like this becomes even more of a problem in the second gens.

i have equalized all the tire pressures to the original specs for my specific tires and load, with no perceivable difference. the truck has no lift that i am aware of, its a dually, and with no modifications other than a flat bed, it was originally bought as a chassis cab.

the symptoms are: everything is perfect until i hit about 40 mph, where i get hints of a wobble. truck tracks fine, no pulling to the side ever, with or without brakes. past 45, the truck goes back into feeling smooth and rides great, all the way up to about 61mph.