1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

different TPS problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2004, 09:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
different TPS problem

First a little history. I am a newbie here and have been searching a lot here over the last 2 weeks. I have learned a ton already.
I bought a 93 CTD, AT, 4x4, club cab, 148,000 miles, last week . This is my first diesel. It has problems shifting into OD, which is no surprise, I know. I narrowed it down to the TPS. Went to test it and thought it was bad. Tried to adjust it for fun and then discovered the real problem. With the TPS unbolted I can turn it by hand and get good readings on the voltmeter. The problem is in the hex drive setup that actually turns the TPS. The plastic shaft under the TPS has a small bolt that the head is rounded off. Also the hex socket the little bolt head fits into is worn. Replacing the bolt looks to be no problem but is the hex pocket it sets into replaceable without tearing down the injector pump?
Old 12-13-2004, 07:53 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
First of all, welcome to the world of Cummins and to DTR. As you're already discovered, there is a wealth of information hidden in these forums.

Now for your question, I honestly have no idea on a fix for your problem with the hex but if no one else chimes in pretty soon, I'd suggest that you contact Piers or one of the other site vendors that work on pumps. They may be your best source for information on this.

http://www.piersdiesel.com/

Sorry that I couldn't be of more help.
Old 12-13-2004, 09:30 PM

Well that's a start. And thanks for the welcome. Anyone have any experience with this problem?
Old 12-13-2004, 09:32 PM
Patron Saint of 1st gens

You should have no problem getting that part. It is an 8mm (?) allen cap screw. Any Bosch shop will have one or can get one.