Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Best Trailer Brake Controller ??

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2008, 09:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best Trailer Brake Controller ??

I'm a little out of date, and as I said earlier, I'm shopping for a trailer to retire in.

Seems like I read many times about the Jordan being the best controller out there. Do y'all agree ?? Which model should I look at ??

As I recall, the controller should just plug into the wiring harness up under the dash. Is this right ??

Thanks much. Appreciate any answers. Lar.
Old 03-09-2008, 10:23 PM

I don't Jordan is around anymore are they?

I've got a Prodigy by Tekonsha. I've been running it for about 5-6 years now. Its a great unit,and you'd have to find a hell of a controller to be better than a Prodigy IMO.

Its easy to set up and works very smoothly.

Yes,most controllers can be installed with a simple plug under the dash.
Old 03-09-2008, 10:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Prodigy has worked great for me.
Old 03-10-2008, 04:24 AM

Brakesmart hands down
Old 03-10-2008, 07:32 AM

Hayes Genesis works great easy install. Got it form Southwest Wheel 2nd day air and free shipping!
Old 03-10-2008, 08:03 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I like the Jordan and think it is the best one out there. However, I hooked up to a trailer that had the battery hooked backwards and it fried the controller. Good news is that Jordan fixed it no charge. In the mean time I had to put another controller in and I think it is the Prodigy.
I have the Jordan, brand new, in a box here at home.
I did a search for Jordan and I can't find their link; they might have gone out of business.
Old 03-10-2008, 09:19 AM

I like my Prodigy much better than any of the other controllers I've ran but if I was pulling a big 5ver I would be willing to try out a Brakesmart to see if I liked it better than the prodigy.
Old 03-10-2008, 06:26 PM