Introductions / New People If you're new to the site, feel free to introduce yourself here. Welcome!

Cummins owner from California

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2008, 10:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cummins owner from California

Hello everyone! Long time Mopar fan here, mostly with the old muscle cars but I've had my 2500 now about 2 years and we're planning an across the country trip this year so I thought I better hop it up a little, and by the looks of things this is the place to ask questions.

I've been reading around so I've been able to pick up some basics and will start my own thread when I get going. 72k on the odometer right now and it sounds like the trans will need to be beefed some, lol.

I've been wenching for 32 years and at Toyota for the last 12.
Old 04-29-2008, 10:20 PM

Location: My head lays down in Murrieta, but the day light hours are spent in San Diego, Ca.
Welcome to DTR!!!! Yep, this IS the place for "hop up" info!!!!

1) Gauges (Fuel pressure, Pyro, Boost, Tranny Temp)
2) Free flowing exhaust.
3) Cold air intake system.
4)Performance module, preferly an adjustable on the fly; i.e. Quadzilla's XZT+ or Edge Comp (I like the XZT+)
5) As for the tranny, you at least need a shift kit and deep pan (at a bare min.) Then maybe a good billet triple disc torque converter. NOW the order numbers 4 and 5 probably should be flipped, maybe not.
Old 04-29-2008, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
right on man...check out winspeed performance, they are located in martinez. they will be happy to assist you in your cummins needs...Adam is the owner, his name on here is WINSPEED - chris
Old 04-29-2008, 10:37 PM

Hey thanks.

4" exhaust is on the way and I'll do gages in the next few weeks. I have a K&N in the stock box. Shift kit is definitely on the list but wanted to hold off on a converter until next year. I don't drive it very hard but it sure shifts like a slug box!
Old 04-29-2008, 10:39 PM