HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Electrical Gremlins

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2004, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Electrical Gremlins

About a year ago my radio worked now and then. About 2 weeks ago the winshield wipers blew a fuse, replaced the fuse and it blew as soon as I turned them on. Hard wired the wipers directly to the battery and they worked fine. Yesterday I started the truck and the windows won't work. I hit the switch and the dash light cluster with the ( water in fuel, wait to start, park brake) lights come on. When I turn on the heater the same lights come on yet the blower does not work.
I have no heater blower, electric windows, radio, and only have wipers when I hook up the hard wire to the battery... I could use some ideas on how to check this... I'm not a mechanic but could remove the dash or do most anything with instruction
Thanks for any ideas
Old 12-18-2004, 06:50 PM

You most likely have more than one problem. Start out by checking the grounds. The batt cables at the batts and the block. The cable from the cab to the block , the ground from the fender to the batt. Check the volts at the main fuse box and the fuses. Check the main harness bulkhead connector at the firewall. Check the ignition switch. I don't know what year your truck is, but some years had a recall for the ign switch and heater relay. The dealer has to do that for the recall or you can buy the parts and do it yourself. Check the harnesses for bare spots to the wipers causing the fuse problem.
Old 12-19-2004, 09:39 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
electrical problems

Does anyone have the year of maintance manual for this year of truck that would narrow it down to look where for the wiring tree.Copper cote any of your ground connections this lasts longer than the others and is better at the same time. Wipe some vaseline the plug connections as well.
Old 12-20-2004, 08:16 AM