General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Power gain after towing?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2004, 09:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Power gain after towing?

I have been working on my CTD since I got it about 6 months ago. So far just the basics trying to get it to run good, (starwheel adjustment, new linkages, TPS adjustment, silencer ring removal, valve adjustment, air and fuel filters, fix some oil and diesel leaks, some wiring, recalls, shocks...)

About three weeks ago I installed a #10 plate slid full forward with the AFC also full forward. After the truck had more power, got a little higher boost (from 24 to 30 PSI) and EGT's would go higher (from 900 max to 1050). Better but not amazing.

Yesterday I picked up my brother-in-law's boat (10,000 lbs. approx.) from winter storage and brought it back home. The drive is about 100 miles and has some fairly decent hills (steep but not long). The truck definitely pulled better, some hills where I could only do 55MPH before I was now able to pull at 80. I could even get the EGT's up to 1200 on some hills.

Anyway to get to the point - today I jumped in the truck and it seemed to start-up much better than usual, cranked faster and fired up almost instantly. But when I started driving I couldn't believe how fast it was. It seems like it has double the power it used to have. It will spin all 4 back tires from a dead stop and accelerates like a hot rod. I haven't done anything performance wise in the last three weeks just the boat tow yesterday. Doesn't make any sence to me!