General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Got a chance to drive a slightly bombed Duramax

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2007, 10:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got a chance to drive a slightly bombed Duramax

So after seeing a zillion duramaxes around me I finally got to drive one. My neighbor threw me the keys to his 06' Chev 2500 crew cab 4x4 Dmax. Its lifted 6", on 35s and has a bullydog powerpup with the outlook monitor.

So I went out, first trying the stock power level, impressive I thought, pulls nice and hard. Compared the the 6.7 I drove last week, it was very close. Then I started playing with the performance and extreme levels. Holy heck these new computerfangled diesels move! Definately put me in my seat and then some. Being a Cummins diehard, I'll come right out and say it, the Dmax impressed me. Nice and smooth, don't really care for the V8 diesel sound, turbo spoolup was fairly quick and it whistled pretty good. If I had a choice I think I'd still choose a new CTD over the Dmax, but the Dmax would be very close second.

Besides it being a V8 diesel, I see nothing wrong with a duramax. IMO they are really starting to prove themselves, even if they are a light duty motor.

Needless to say, when I can comfortably afford a new truck (in a few years) I'm definately going to join up with you computer geeks . But the 12V still has a place in my heart, it just needs some more attention in the power department
Old 07-04-2007, 10:14 PM

Originally Posted by NoSparkplugs
So after seeing a zillion duramaxes around me I finally got to drive one. My neighbor threw me the keys to his 06' Chev 2500 crew cab 4x4 Dmax. Its lifted 6", on 35s and has a bullydog powerpup with the outlook monitor.