Fuels / BioDiesel / Diesel Prices Use this forum to discuss your biodiesel information, and to find the best price on fuel.

RMO and bogging down

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2009, 08:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RMO and bogging down

Fellas
First post here, and it's a fairly long one but I wanted to give some history so you have an idea what I'm doing.
I'm new at the MO thing and am filtering and running t straight. I'm having intermittent problems and need some advice. Here is a compilation from threads on thedieselstop.com but I've been unable to figure out the problem soI thought I'd try here.

If anyone has ideas, let me know. I'm really at a loss.

Roger

=

NEWBIE with WMO/RMO report and QUESTION/NEED HELP

I drive a 96 F250 7.3PSD 4WD (relatively new to me), dual 5 inch straight stacks, 35 inch tires, 4 inch lift, EDGE programmer, new glow plugs, stock, otherwise. 200,000 miles and I get about 14 MPG on the freeway. It has plenty of power and lots of acceleration.

I decided to try RMO.

I set up a filter with a PH8 followed by a “rope wound” whole-house water filter, feed was by gravity from my garage going down into my basement, a fall of about 8 feet.

I’ve installed a 50 gallon aux tank in the bed of the truck and had to install a vent in it. I filled it with 5 gallons of oil. The truck started up fine and seemingly ran well.

I’m running 100% RMO.

When I got on the highway, it accelerated very well up to about 40 but then gets a bit anemic. Well, it gets a LOT anemic. Pushing on the pedal gives almost no acceleration. I switched back to diesel fuel and all was well,

=

I replaced the fuel filter and drove it on straight RMO. Not only did it run strong (I mean STRONG !) it didn't flatten out about 45. I easily got it up to about 75, still pulling strong, like a bull.