4th Gen High Performance and Accessories 2010 and Up Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for fourth generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

New ecm

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2012, 04:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New ecm

Im new to Dodge, so this might be a stupid question, but, why cant we just get a spare ecm and take out factory module and put in spare, do mods and if we need waranty work put it back to stock and put in original ecm. No way to tell if it has been tuned. Just thinking.
Old 03-19-2012, 09:58 PM

No responses? Is this a big secret that we have been using already?
Old 03-20-2012, 10:50 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Not an expert but, I'm guessing the key counts on the new ECM wouldn't jive with the mileage on the odo. That's one way they know you have a programmer, it resets the key counts when you flash the ecm back to stock (or visa versa).

BTW- If you posted this question on the "high performance and accessory" sub-forum you might have got a quicker/better response :-)
Old 03-20-2012, 11:36 AM

Thank you you are prob correct about wrong thread, I believe milage is stored in ECM as well so when you put back original if you have trbl, milage would revert back, I could be wrong about that, so key count would be unchanged and accurate.
Old 03-20-2012, 11:39 AM

New ECU for mods

I posted this elsewhare, so I thoght I would move it here. Why cant you use a new, diff ECU when you do mods, keep original as backup if you need waranty work, smog whatever. Put back stock with original ecu. Just thinking. found used ECU for around a grand.
Old 03-20-2012, 11:40 AM

I wonder if the VINs have to match.
Old 03-20-2012, 11:56 AM

From what I have been told, this will work as long as you don't do any mods on your factory ECM. Sounds like the Chevy guys have been doing this for years; although, their ECM's are far less expensive.
Old 03-20-2012, 10:39 PM