3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Question for those high performance fans out there...

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2011, 10:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question for those high performance fans out there...

I am new to the Cummins Diesel and have a basic question for you. Why do people claim EGT is lowered if less restrictive parts are added, like a CFM+ intake manifold, more open intercooler, more open exhaust manifold, bigger diameter exhaust?

So the interesting case is when the engine is under load, say at 25 psi boost. I think the boost pressure is measured with the mapping sensor, which is very close to cylinder 6, NOT at the turbo? With this amount of boost, so much air is going to go into each cylinder. With less restrictive parts upstream of the mapping sensor on the intake side, but the same boost pressure, does more air actually go into each cylinder. I would not think so since boost is measured at the cylinder, and with 25 psi boost, the same amount of air will go in (unless it is choked by some stock part, which seems unlikely--the engineers at Cummins would not do that for an engine which is used for towing and hauling big loads much of the time, no?).

If that is true, then how does this same amount of air absorb the same heat at a lower tempature for a lower EGT?