3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Looking at getting a smarty Programmer.. which one??

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 12:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking at getting a smarty Programmer.. which one??

I just bought a 2007 Dodge 2500 5.9L 4X4 Mega cab 2 weeks ago and I LOVE IT!! This is my first diesel truck. So I am really new to all of this. I am already looking at doing some mods to the truck. I am wanting to get a tuner, Cold Air system and exhaust.

I am looking at a S&B cold air system and a Mbrp or Flowmaster exhaust.

The problem I am having is trying to figure out which programmer to go with. I want to get a Edge CTS to use with a smarty for the gauges. I know someone selling a Smarty ssr programmer for cheap. But I am concerned that SSR has to many programing options and I might be getting over my head at this time. I don't want to mess up the engine. I do want a programmer that has the POD functionality. My other option was the Smarty S-06. I like the pre programmed modes on S-06. But I also like having the capabilities of growing in the future if I want to do more mods later on down the road.. How user friendly is the Smarty SSR for someone that is brand new to this?

Please help!!!

Thank You

Paul
Old 07-21-2013, 05:38 AM

Sounds like you should go with the S06.. Does not sound like you would need SSR. I would recommend adding the UDC software option if you are PC savy as it allows even more to how you can make your truck drive like you want.