3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Exhaust brake

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 12:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust brake

Im new to the Diesel Truck resource world, so i figured i would try to learn something. Im wanting to put an exhaust brake on my truck as i pull a trailer frequently in the summer. Plus i think they are sweet!
What is a good brand? Do they sound anything like a big rig on the outside?
Old 04-20-2008, 12:34 PM

I use a BD Exhaust brakes. I was told by most to go Pacbrake, but I liked the Towloc module that the BD Brake uses. Its laptop programmable, can setup the temps you want the brake the warm up your truck to, can setup when to lockup (if you have an auto) and a bunch of other nce features.

That being said there are many many happpy Pacbrake users on here. It came down to price for me, and I have a local "performance distributor" that sold me the BD Brake for $700, and the Towloc module for $315. I went BD because it had both for cheaper then the Pacbrake.

Most people cannot get prices that are 20-30% off Jobber rate on everything they buy though, so scope out the Pacbrake/BD Brake vendors and decide what you like best.

I'm very happy with my BD Brake.
Old 04-20-2008, 12:49 PM

I just bought a 5" remote mount pacbrake for $1300 shipped to the front door.
Old 04-20-2008, 12:59 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Both dad and I have the Jacobs, we are both very happy with it... and we both do a fair amount of towing in the rockies.....

Some say the Pac is more efficient at lower rpms, but for what I do I am not sure that would work as well... I spend a lot of time on dirt roads and the braking from the Jake, even at 1500 rpms is perfect, and if I need a little more braking I just downshift...