3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2007 and up 6.7 liter Engine and Drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

An Unfortunate Story - Need Input

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2008, 06:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
An Unfortunate Story - Need Input

I'm a 2008 Duramax driver myself, but I've just become aware of an unfortunate situation involving a late 2007 Dodge RAM and its emissions system that has cost the owner a bundle. However, I think he and the dealership may have inadvertently come to the wrong conclusion about his problem and I'm asking for input based on the experience on this forum.

The truck was taken, in limp mode, to a dealership in Saskatchewan, Canada, with a plugged up DPF. The dealership was unable to burn off the soot, and at some point asked the owner if he had been using anything other than ulsd fuel. (It is important to note that ulsd has been required by law at all pumps in Canada since late 2006).

The owner admitted to using some higher sulfur fuel from his farm tanks, a situation which the dealership immediately stated was the cause of the DPF blockage. As a result, Chrysler refused to pay for the repair. The owner ended up buying a new exhaust system AND injectors - a $5000+ expense.

I know from extensive discussions on www.dieselplace.com (GM pickups) and www.thedieselstop.com (Ford pickups) that LOTS of owners are using farm diesel or other high sulfur fuels in their trucks with NO issues. I am in touch with a number of pickup owners in Mexico, one of which has done more than 12,000 miles in a RAM, with no problems. In addition, ALL of the scientific testing of DPFs and DOCs by the EPA and manufacturers prior to 2007 indicates that at least 40,000 miles must be travelled using high sulfur fuel to cause any degradation in the performance of the emissions system.