3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Talked to Dodge engineer about mega-cab...

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2004, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Talked to Dodge engineer about mega-cab...

Greetings from Kumamoto Japan! Another business trip.

Anyhow, the route over here forced me to change planes in Detriot and while I was waiting for the plane in an airport bar, I started shooting the breeze with a guy who turned out to work for Diamler-Chrysler's Dodge Ram design group.

I asked him about the mega cab and he said it's coming out in 2006.

He said the overall length of the truck is equal to the currrent Quad cab with an 8 foot bed.

But he said the mega cab will have the 6 foot bed, and that the extra length (20+ inches!) is going into making the cab that much bigger.

He said it will have the largest crew cab in the industry.

He also said it should be at all the big auto shows in January.

The guy was very interested in owner feedback, so I gave him this website address. He said Dodge has a group now working on a new Ram design due out several years from now.

Also, he did mention rumor has it that Cummins will have another increase in torque soon.

That's all folks!

DT.
Old 09-29-2004, 08:22 PM

So big wowie.......mega cab...but a mini bed.

Dodge still doesn't get it
Old 09-29-2004, 08:36 PM

Mega cab with a longbed you would need a swivel in the center to turn a corner. Sorta like a land train. Short bed works well for me . No 5er or gooseneck. I use a 16' lowboy for longer loads.
Old 09-29-2004, 10:29 PM

My question is how much more $, and if considerably more are they going to still offer the current quad cab size? I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

20 inches sounds like overkill. I would have been happy with half that.
Old 09-29-2004, 10:38 PM