3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Just purchased my first ever diesel , need advice :)

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 01:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just purchased my first ever diesel , need advice :)

Hello,

I just purchased a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 Laramie 2WD DRW with 5.9L L6 OHV 24V TURBO DIESEL , auto . I have never owened a diesel before , so I am a total noob . I will be using this about 95% of the time to tow a 5th wheel not as a daily driver .

So any tips, advice would be greatly appreciated .

Bigdaddy51200
Old 12-28-2010, 02:33 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the Cummins Family...

Best thing to do is read a couple months worth of posts and join other Cummins Forums and read some more. You will gain lots of first hand knowledge from this...
Old 12-28-2010, 02:45 PM

Welcome to the crew! X2 on tryNto's comments. There is a whole heaping passle of info running around, some great and some questionable. My first suggestion would be to get a downloadable Service Manual, a bottle of 16 yr old Single Malt and do some reading. I'd prefer the paper manual, but this is the paperless generation! I'd also change all the fluids and filters to establish a baseline for whatever your service cycle ends up being. You'll find a lot of people that run their trucks just about the same way as you will and they can help you out considerably.

Good luck and enjoy!
Old 12-29-2010, 06:22 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by bigdaddy51200
Hello,

I just purchased a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 Laramie 2WD DRW with 5.9L L6 OHV 24V TURBO DIESEL , auto . I have never owened a diesel before , so I am a total noob . I will be using this about 95% of the time to tow a 5th wheel not as a daily driver .

So any tips, advice would be greatly appreciated .

Bigdaddy51200
Install a Smarty jr.

If you didn't catch that, install a Smarty jr.