2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Where to go Where to go??

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2004, 01:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Where to go Where to go??

Greetings!
Man.. It's been a while since I've been a rank newbie on a message forum.

I've been looking around for a place that has a good stock of information on what to look for when buying a used (2nd gen) Dodge diesel truck. I've read specs, I've read Edmunds.
What I want is what to look for? I've never owned a diesel before but am ready to make the plunge.
I currently drive a 1999 Ford Expedition XLT. While I like it a lot, I need a truck and I am sick of wimpy V8's and powerful V8's that get 3.5 mpg.
Before I bought the Expy in 2001, I was looking at going Dodge diesel when my wife drove her brothers new Expedition and liked it. Of course, once I bought one, she drove it and didn't like it - (big sigh).
So, I am looking for a 2001 (for price) 2500 Cummins 4wd (for obvious reasons) long bed extended cab. When I find one, what do I look for?
What goes wrong? Where are the weak points?

Thanks!
Old 08-18-2004, 01:51 PM

Hello and welcome to the forums! I think you will find a wealth of information here and an overall friendly sight. I would think that the most important things to look for on a 2nd Gen would be the death wobble and the lift pump. Do a search for them and you will know what I am talking about. I am sure others will chime in with their opinions as well.
Mishkaya
Old 08-18-2004, 01:57 PM

Use the search method to look around at the problems that get pointed out to you. Also if you look any earlier than 2000, read about the KDP. Welcome aboard this site is great and you will hear about stuff that you never heard of before.
Old 08-18-2004, 02:00 PM
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Welcome to DTR xp8103!