2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

remote programing

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 07:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
remote programing

I am kinda new to the DTR but I have been watching the forum for a while now, mostily in the 3rd gen as I have a 07 6.7l on order. I had a 97 3500 for about 3 years and then two years ago I traded it for an 05 Tundra. Nice truck but not a truck and I missed shifting my diesel. So I ordered a new truck. To get to the point I am borrowing a 2000 2500 gasser from my work, a nissan delaer. The truck doesent have a remote with it we just got a key. It has the SLT package and power locks. First will the truck suport remote entrey and will a 97 remote work on a 2000. If so how do you program the remote as I cant stand haveing no keyless entrey
Thanks for the help.
Jeff
Old 05-03-2007, 12:58 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
The simple answer is NO. The remotes differ between those years, so you would not be able to use the older remote on the newer truck. Next, while the 2000 might have the SLT package, that does not necessarily mean it has keyless entry. A Dodge dealer will be able to confirm if it has keyless entry installed on it by the VIN or by hooking up a scanner to it.
If you wish to pursue this, get a remote for a 2000 Ram, it will look sort of like a figure 8 in shape, instead of the square/rectangular shape the eariler trucks used.
PM me if you need a PN, I'll look it up on the back of one of mine for my 99. You take the PN and search for it on eBay to get the right one. You can usually get them dirt-cheap there. I got a coupl of extras for my 99 for 10 bucks each.
You WILL have to take the remote and truck to the dealer to get the remote programmed. Unfortunately there is no way around this since you have no remote now.

Chris
Old 05-03-2007, 06:09 PM