24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Truck Will Not Start After Tappet Gasket Disaster!

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 03:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Truck Will Not Start After Tappet Gasket Disaster!

Hey everyone!

About a year ago, I rescued a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500 24 valve Cummins (160,000 miles) sitting in a field in the desert of New Mexico. Over the past year, I have been slowly repairing/replacing parts on the truck. The truck runs powerful (No smoke, No knocks, No chatter). Over the past month, the truck has been leaking quite a bit of oil from the driver side of the engine. I am currently a full time college student and a full time employee and do not have too much time to really dig into the truck. I called the local mechanics and they wanted $3000 or more to replace this $15 gasket....(Yeah.... Not going to happen). So after reading several posts on this forum and a couple of YouTube videos, I felt that it wouldn't be too difficult of a job (Boy was I wrong)! This is my first diesel truck, and I wanted to learn more about the motor (partly why I decided to take on the job myself). Below is a quick summary of the events that unfolded while replacing the tappet cover gasket;
  • 5/3: removed the heater air intake, injection lines (#1,2,4) off of the truck. Placed the fuel filter, throttle cables, and ECM off to the side (Didn't disconnect these completely from truck/just enough to move off to the side.)
  • 5/4: removed the VP44 from the truck, removed the fuel filter bracket from side of engine (only way I could pull the tappet cover completely off). Removed the tappet cover. Replaced the gasket on the tappet cover and reinstalled to the truck to the correct torque specifications.
WARNING: get out the tissues because this part is depressing;