24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Blown Pinion seal on camping trip

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blown Pinion seal on camping trip

Evening everyone. As the title says I blew or have a leak from the front for the rear differential around the pinion and driveshaft. I found this as we setup camp. I put in more fluid 1/2 qt for the drive home, stopped half way and didn't loose much maybe a 1/4 cup. Drove the last 100 miles home and oil is everywhere, it got much worse and now drips.

So my question is this needs to be fixed asap. Is this just a pinion seal and I can replace just that with the oil slinger if there is one or do I need to take this to a shop and have new pinion bearings etc done.

I've done a Ford 8.8 ring and pinion so I have some knowledge but I've never done more than a fluid dump and fill on these dana 80's.

Thanks
Old 06-24-2012, 07:12 PM
Cummins Guru

Received 64 Likes on 44 Posts
Unless you have these tools and feel confident you can torque the pinion nut back to 440 ft lbs laying on your back then I would take it to a shop. I would also replace pinion nut and flange since it is most likely grooved where seal rides.

REMOVAL
Raise and support the vehicle.
Mark the universal joint, pinion yoke, and pinion shaft for installation reference.
Disconnect the propeller shaft from the pinion yoke. Secure the propeller shaft in an upright position to prevent damage to the rear universal joint.
Remove wheel and tire assemblies.
Remove brake calipers to prevent any drag. The drag may cause a false bearing preload torque measurement.
Rotate pinion yoke three or four times.
Record the amount of torque necessary to rotate the pinion gear with an inch pound dial-type torque wrench.
Hold the yoke with Holder 6719A and remove the pinion shaft nut and washer.