1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

TPS Failures?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 04:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TPS Failures?

How often do the tps units fail on these trucks? I'm getting excited about one of these as my "teaching" truck I drive to diesel mechanics class with (I learn hands on, so want something to look at and go "hey, that's what that is I learned about!")

The only thing holding me back is the weak dodge transmissions (looking at automatics) and I would have to say the TPS failing. (plus gas mileage) If they eat those like people on discount taco tuesdays at taco bell, well... I am a student after all and wouldn't want to ponying up $200 each time it breaks!

did see the $30 fixes and stuff, but that seems like a source of frustration as I don't have spare metal laying around to fab up new mounts

I'm no strange to TPS units causing issues (had a 93 F150 with water being sprayed on it courtesy of the last owner, thank god the computer went into limp home mode at least) but cost is always a issue.

I hope these trucks get the decent mpg i'm seeing around here. 18,19,20+ mpg in the city would be nice, especially with diesel fuel being so high! I have no issue driving like a slow grandpa, driving is fun anyway!
Old 03-24-2011, 08:11 AM

Well, you're in luck...because you're incorrect on a couple of subjects.

First, these auto trannies are NOT weak, they are some of the best and most reliable automatics ever put in a truck. The 727 is dang near legendary, and the A518 is the same trans, but with OD.