1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Spring Liners for a Soother Ride

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2008, 07:07 AM
Administrator

Received 232 Likes on 161 Posts
Post Spring Liners for a Soother Ride

Part-1

I finally found the reason why our trucks ride so rough and here is how we can repair them.

Anyone who owns a Dually knows just how harsh the ride can be; along with the poorly built and maintained highways for me my ride has become a not so enjoyable task.

On the freeway the truck would hit the dips in the roadbed so hard it would shake things off the seat an as nice as my truck is it would literally shake you to death on long rides.

Having tried to soften the ride by installing Firestone Air Bags and removing springs from the pack it helped a lot but it was not the answer so while laying under the truck I studied the suspension and how the springs acted when the truck was bounced and I came up with the simple answer of why the truck rides so rough.

So I calling the spring shops and asking them questions and they basically had no clue what I was asking for so I searched the World Wide Web and after a lot of dead ends I found what I needed.

To see the reason the truck rides so rough we need to look at the leaf springs.
I will show you the answer in a bit but to fix the problem first we need to remove the leaf springs.

Assuming you have the required skill and knowledge to perform this repair you should have no problems doing it yourself but a helper is advisable.

If you do not have the skills then you could print out these instructions and take it to someone who can.