1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

NOOB Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2005, 12:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NOOB Questions

Ok I have driven Semi's and construction equipment my entire life. The problem is I have never had to physically work on a diesel enough to understand the parts. I have basic knowledge of Diesels and how they work. I have a 93 CTD W250 w/5 speed. I have a fuel leak at what I thought was the fuel pump. I am not sure what is the lift pump, the fuel pump & the KBS solenoid? It looks as though one of the fittings for a hard fuel line may be loose and leaking fuel all over the pump. The accelerator linkage is kind of in the way to get in there easily to tighten it up and it is in against the block. I was told by my friend that I got the truck from that he had to replace the cold weather sensor before when it smoked and ran bad. So I started searching and found a lot of references to the KBS solenoid and fuel leaks. I figured I would start with my fuel leak and go from there to try and resolve the blue smoke and rough running in cold weather issue. What do I need to do to get in next to the block to tighten the fuel fittings? Looks as thoug I need to remove a few things to get in there. Is that the fuel pump that the lines are coming out of? Where is the lift pump? Where is the KBS solenoid? Sorry if these have been brought up before but I could find no mention to locations in my searching?
Old 05-02-2005, 12:21 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts