1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Im new to this so help if you can...mechanical woman with question

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 09:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im new to this so help if you can...mechanical woman with question

I have a 93 Dodge Diesel that when driving it it will all the sudden lose some of its power and the speed odometor will also quit. I can put it in neutral and turn it off and turn it back on then all is fine till who knows when. Now its doing it more often...Its driving me crazy...anyone have an idea??? Please, if you can I would greatly appreciate it. Thank You, dazindolly
Old 06-22-2010, 09:28 PM

Please fill out you signature so we know some more about your truck when you get time. I would check the wires on the vehicle speed sensor (VSS) it is located on the tail shaft or rear of the transfercase if it is 4WD. Make sure the connection is clean and maybe use a little dielectric grease on the connection. I had a similar problem and the dielectric grease fixed it right up.
Old 06-22-2010, 09:36 PM

its a 93 dodge diesel 3/4 t automatic
Old 06-22-2010, 09:42 PM

Sounding like an ignition switch on it's way out to me. I had mine doing that. I ran a jumper wire with alligator clips on the end from my + terminal on my battery to my Fuel Shut Off Solenoid (FSS) on the back of the injection pump. The rest of my trip home I saw my gauges going from on to off, and my GPS hooked into my cigarette lighter kept coming on and off too.