1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

I put this in the Help section also, please read

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 04:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I put this in the Help section also, please read

Hi, I own a 92 3/4 ton 4x4 with getrag transmission. Recently I've been having a problem with the grid heater ( i believe that's what he called it) I'm fairly new to Dodges and diesels so bear with me here. I've had the truck for a little over a year and it has 143,000 on it. No adjustments ever to the motor as far as performance.

Anyway, I live in Wisconsin and its been about anywhere from 30 degrees to zero for the last two weeks. I noticed that recently when I turn the ignition to the "on" position the two indicator lights "Wait to start" and "Water in fuel" either dont come on or they flicker very fast. I also dont hear the grid heater kick out. Therefore, my truck has been hard to start. Before this problem, both lights would come on and stay on and I would here the grid heater cycle and no problem.

I took the truck to my mechanic, he also owns a first gen cummins truck. He replaced the solenoid for the grid heater but no change. He said he cant get any codes to come up on his computer tester either. I wasn't aware that my year of truck had a computer but he said it does. He called our local auto parts stores and they only sell computers for automatic trucks, about $325.00. Mine is a standard so apparently you have to go thru Chrysler to the tune of about $525.00. Still he isn't positive that the computer is the problem. I don't want to order it and then find out it isn't the problem and not be able to return it because it's electrical.